keeeptalking

August 6, 2014

Boycott

Filed under: Poetry — by Zuhair @ 2:15 pm

Israel-bombing-Palestine

Sweet smelling home with Ambi pur.
Sweetly taken care of me with Body Mist. Soft skin.
How many coca colas do I have left? I should get some for the kids.
Little Amal wants Danone too and some fanta to drink.

No home. They’ve bombed it. Where will my children sleep tonight?
My leg is bruised. My feet are cracked. My poor husband is gone.
I’m thirsty. The mouths of my children are dry.
We’ve been suffering for too long.

I’m out of shampoo. Perhaps my friend might be right. I should try Garnier.
I’ll drop by the cosmetics store. They should have a new stock of L’Oreal or Maybeline.
Can’t go now. The kids are home. They’ll want some Kit Kat. They always do.
National geographic? Fox? What are they watching?

Dust everywhere. Oh. God give me strength.
No food, no water. Why do they make us live like this?
I have to find something for the children before the next bomb is dropped. I have to leave the children alone.
I will come back. My son thinks about his father. Please don’t think of this.

Her birthday is coming up. What should I get her?
She likes perfume. Ralph Lauren? We’ll see.
Now, I feel like a good Starbucks cup of coffee and….
Where’s that latest issue of Time? On the coffee table maybe.

My son was born on this day. When he was born, we had no home and we still have no home.
My son has never known home. Never.
I am thirsty. All I want is water. Just a little water for my children.
Will we be like this forever?

Image: The Bombing of Gaza (Through the eyes of a Neo-con Loon). http://www.thetotalcollapse.com. Retrieved 06/08/2014.

1 Comment »

  1. Powerful words that need to be expanded.

    Comment by johncoyote — August 6, 2014 @ 2:41 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Rich Harris Poetry Blog

https://www.amazon.com/author/richharris. Contact via Twitter (@richie_rich77).

Beauty of Modesty

Women in Islam

Amal Ahmed Albaz

Journalist; Poet; Speaker. Superman’s got his cape around his neck; I've got my hijab around my head.

thechildrenoftheummah

The Children of the Ummah

