keeeptalking

November 4, 2014

Forgive me

Filed under: Poetry,Sociopolitics — by Zuhair @ 3:46 pm

shrapnel-school

Oh Palestine. Forgive me

for I have allowed this to occur.

My brothers and sisters are divided;

many not realizing sooner

that we have wronged you.

Oh Gaza. Know my regret

for having not done more

for you and your people.

We let them bomb you and make your soil sore

With agony and destruction.

Oh people of Palestine. Know my sorrow.

We should have come to your door;

we should have fought harder by your side.

Palestine, but you know,

We did nothing.

Oh sisters of Palestine,

let me mourn with you

for the brothers and fathers

and husbands you have lost

and all the others

that you have loved.

Oh brothers of Palestine,

I look up to you

for your bravery;

the same bravery you pass on to your sisters and wives

and make the rest of the world look cowardly.

Oh Palestine.

Image: Shrapnel holes in a decorated wall in the heavily damaged Sobhi Abu Karsh school in Gaza City’s al-Shejaea neighborhood on August 5, 2014. (AFP PHOTO/ MOHAMMED ABED) Retrieved from <http://www.google.com.bh/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fnow.mmedia.me%2FPages%2FImageStreamer%2Fparam%2FMediaID__bd07a288-f5d4-4cfe-91d7-dbdbabea81ee%2Fw__616%2Fh__394%2Fshrapnel-school.jpg&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fnow.mmedia.me%2Flb%2Fen%2Farchive%2F559006-charity-lists-dead-gaza-children-in-british-paper-ads&h=394&w=616&tbnid=7qT8WMPz7HI8fM%3A&zoom=1&docid=YvK-Qyw0M6rCLM&ei=gPNYVKfVKtOHsQSi2YG4CQ&tbm=isch&ved=0CHwQMyhXMFc&iact=rc&uact=3&dur=696&page=5&start=77&ndsp=23&gt; 04/11/2014.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Rich Harris Poetry Blog

https://www.amazon.com/author/richharris. Contact via Twitter (@richie_rich77).

Beauty of Modesty

Women in Islam

Amal Ahmed Albaz

Journalist; Poet; Speaker. Superman’s got his cape around his neck; I've got my hijab around my head.

